Headline: Barney Frank (D-MA) Wants UIGEA Ban Repeal

Gaming Shares Rise as FT Says Frank Wants Ban Repeal (Bloomberg, 03/14/07)
“Online-gambling stocks rose after the Financial Times said House Financial Services Committee Chairman Barney Frank wants to repeal a law passed last year that criminalized the industry…”I am working on legislation to cut back on this Internet gambling thing,” the FT cited Frank as saying on its Web site, referring to last year’s law. “I think it’s preposterous,” and the law is one of the “stupidest” ever passed, the FT cited him as saying. “Maybe we can make some money off it,’ he added.”

4 responses to “Headline: Barney Frank (D-MA) Wants UIGEA Ban Repeal

  1. William W. Grey

    I tip my hat to Congressman Barney Frank, it’s great to hear member of Congress feels UIGEA needs to be taken off the books. I’LL be following your work, if you were my Congressman you would have my vote. Thanks for having and open mind, and I hope you will support Internet Poker sites in U.S. William W. Grey Fresno, Ca

  2. Barney Frank is my Congressman and I’m damn happy about that. I’ve emailed him twice regarding this. Once last year before it went into effect, and he said he was against it. I even saw the clip of him on C-SPAN talking about it (thanks to the the Daily Show). Then a couple weeks ago I emailed him again voicing my concern and hadn’t heard anything back (this time, but he did respond the first time. I guess he’s a little busier after last November… ;), but I heard this story on NPR this morning so I guess he’s sticking to his guns.

  3. I hope Mr. Frank’s efforts are successful. With a change of administration coming soon there is hope for all of us.

    J Davis
    http

    I hope Mr. Frank’s efforts are successful. With a change of administration coming next year there is hope for all of us.

    J Davis
    http://www.bingohouse.com

    ://www.bingohouse.com

  4. I realy feel for the gamblers in the US. I cant beleive your Congress banned all banks and credit card companies from accepting transactions from online gambling sites which makes you unable to play online poker. What a bunch of hypocrites your state government are. They have the largest gambling operations with lotto, keno, etc. If they truly believed their rhetoric about internet gambling they would cut out the state operations also. And now they are bringing in a law to legalise slot machines. Personally I would have a big grudge against any party that stopped me from playing online
    poker. I think there must be some way for you guys to get around this problem. Must make you wonder if you are living in the land of the free when it seems the government has full control on what it will and wont let you do.

Leave a Reply

